Goodbye 2015, Hello 2016

Hi Guys, long time, I know.. I am very sorry that I’ve been a bit MIA recently but I’ve been a bit busy with new happenings in my life and I didn’t want to blog just for posting content, as I said ,before quality over quantity..

untitled

I don’t know about you but I am soo very happy that we are saying goodbye to 2015 and HELLO to 2016 in a few hours (well in South Africa it’s still 2015 anyway).

This year has really been a tough one for me, I don’t tend to post a lot of personal content but maybe as my following grows I might grow and share a bit more. But for now all I will say is 2015 has been a hard one, I’ve really learned so much this year, about myself and in general, and I think as a person I have grown a lot.

A few things that stood out that I’ve learnt this year are;
– You have to put your happiness first, you can’t please everyone
– Make time for the people who matter in your life, don’t hold on to people who make you feel crap
– Embrace who YOU are and not who people expect you to be – meaning be the weirdo you are
– Change the things that make you unhappy
– Do what you love, screw what other people say about it, this also goes for your clothing style, hair, make up, taste in music, books, series etc. – Don’t be like everyone else, be different
– Be there for others, and help where you can
– Buy the Shoes/Dress/whatever – my favorite saying this year “YOLO Payday” oops haha
– You are the only person who can pick yourself up when you’re down, do it, it’s worth it and get help if you need to
– Be Kind

– Don’t dim your light because you’re scared you will outshine others
– and then… “I’m someone’s DUFF” there will always be someone prettier, happier, skinnier, more talented or successful etc. than you, don’t let that get you down.
 Photo by A Whimsical Chaos
Photo by A Whimsical Chaos
Photo by A Whimsical Chaos

Then 2015 wasn’t all bad, I’ve made some amazing new friends this year and rekindled old friendships, I saw a very dear friend that lives in America for the 1st time in 6 years, I started my Blog this year, I went to Joburg for the 1st time, I have a new job, I enjoyed my life this year, I embraced change and new things, I changed my hair 1 Million times and I’m loving it,  I went out a lot and stayed in when I felt like it, I was able to make peace with the past and move on in my life. Even though it was hard, 2015 taught me a lot.

Photo by A Whimsical Chaos

Saying that, I am happy to move on to 2016, I’m ready for it, I’m ready to hit the quarter of a century year in my life, I’m ready to embrace new experiences, try new food, learn new things, meet new people. As travelling is a passion of mine I cannot wait for 2016, I will be going to Thailand in March and then to Europe at the end of the year, I will be saving very hard to make this happen and I am willing to do that as Travelling makes me so happy.

6

So let’s face 2016 head on with no fears, embrace changes and be happy! Give the best you possibly can and you will succeed – don’t ever give up on yourself! I promise more Lush reviews, Current faves, recipes and social posts to come in 2016..
Remember,
“It’s all happening” – Penny Lane, Almost Famous

7

Happy New Year!

Xx
Nici 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

