Rocking The Daisies

Hi Guys so I wanted to post this blog like last week already but I was still recovering from an awesome time at the festival I was just too tired to finish the post. But Better late than never hey..

So the 1st weekend of October thousands and I mean THOUSANDS of people flocked to Cloof wine farm in  the small town of Darling to go to one of the biggest Music festivals in Cape Town, Rocking The Daisies. The festival turned 10 this year so it was a biggy and I was excited!

Exploring Daisies

Exploring Daisies

This was only my Second Daisies festival, so I kinda knew the lay of the land at the festival. I went with a friend and this in fact was her first Daisies festival.

Photo by A Whimsical Chaos

From last years’ experience I knew there was going to be a lot of walking involved, queues for days, Camping, festival outfits that are on point, late nights, early mornings, hangovers and it was going to be super-hot.

Daisies Essencials

Daisies Essentials

So being the planner that I am, we went with a plan of action: Set up camp first, have a drink and then go back to the car for our bags – as you park like 1000km from the camp site (well at least that’s how it felt haha). We were fortunate enough to find a camping spot right by the Daisy-Den – the Daisy-Den is a “powder-room/tent” for ladies only, It’s sponsored by Brutal Fruit and there are clean toilets, warm showers, mirrors and various hair styling tools available – it’s really great!

We also made a list of all the acts we did not want to miss the weekend and I am proud to say we saw all except for 2 Dj’s.. We saw the following acts over the course of 2 days; Sibot, Krafty Kuts, PH.fat, Jeremy Loops, Fokofpolisiekar, Aking, Jack Parow, Milky Chance, The Kooks and a little bit of Haezer and The Cat Empire.

Fokofpolisiekar Setting up

Fokofpolisiekar Setting up

During the day we would just chill by the Dam, Beach bar or in the Comedy Tent and at night it was live act after act. The entire vibe at Daisies was just so Happy and the music was amazing.

Dam

Dam

Yup.. Those are people and not even half of how many there was at the festival

Dam

Beach Bar

Beach Bar

Mum-Z at the Comedy Tent

Mum-Z at the Comedy Tent

My favorite act by far was Fokofpolisiekar, they really had an amazing gig the Friday Night, I’m a huge fan and Afrikaans Rock is just, ah, its great I can’t even describe it – I lost my voice during their gig so that says enough.. It was my first time watching Milky Chance and they were also amazing, and btw the lead singer is totes adorbz!! Jack Parow rapped like only he can rap and I loved every second of it; his entire gig, the band and his crowed surfing, the Mascot giving the crowd Jagermeister shots out of the bottle, it was just crazy!! And then off course The Kooks, I mean really, they are British Boys, they make amazing music and they are so good Live, I am lucky enough to have seen them twice now and they  are really a live act you have to see. I was super upset because for some reason the Jeremy Loops show had really bad sound it was super soft and I’m a big fan so barley being able to hear him sing was not cool.. The Electro Dome was super crazy and definitely did not disappoint, the acts were good and the beats were sick!!

Fokofpolisiekar

Fokofpolisiekar

AKing

AKing

Milky Chance

Milky Chance

Jack Parow

Jack Parow

Jeremy Loops

Jeremy Loops

Sibot

Sibot

PH Fat

PH Fat

Electro Dome

Electro Dome

The Kooks

The Kooks

I truly had the most amazing weekend, thinking back now I have to say it was a top weekend, the entire event is Organised to perfection, there is something for every type of person attending the festival, the people are super friendly and everyone was just having a good time!!

Thanks Daisies it was great!!

Xx
Nici

Leave a Reply

